Regional Integration

The treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community was signed on 30th Nov 1999 and entered into force on 7th July 2000 following its ratification by the original three partner states; Kenya, Tanzania  and Uganda. The republic of Rwanda and the republic of Burundi acceded to the EAC treaty ion 18th June 2007 and became full members of the community with effect from 1st July 2007.
AGTSD advances regional integration programme at National and Regional Level and support the Economic cooperation of the East African Community. AGTSD with the support of the relevant ministries of East African community and the EAC Secretariat sensitise the General Public about regional integration issues. AGTSD with various donors support the East African Community economic cooperation and integration in furtherance of the Abuja Treaty establishing African Economic Community.  AGTSD advances sectors in Regional Integration to ensure prosperous, competitiveness, secure and stable and politically united East Africa.
These sectors include;
•    Trade
•    Free movement of people, goods, services and capital.
•    Peace and Security
•    Infrastructure and Energy
•    Agriculture
•    Industry
•    Science and Technology
•    Social Affairs
•    Political Affairs
•    Statistics
•    Capacity Building
•    Fiscal Policy
•    Monetary Policy
•    Financial Markets and Development

Copyright © 2014. Action Green for Trade and Sustainable Development. Designed by
University of Nairobi